Bluebonnets To Peaches


A New Favorite Store
August 28, 2008, 9:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I might have a new favorite grocery store – Publix

Being new to Georgia, I’m new to Publix.  I’ve been reading Sarah’s blog, Fiddledeedee! to learn about the Publix deals and there are many!!

Our first week here I honestly thought all the BOGOF items (buy one, get one free for all my non-coupon friends 🙂 was just a lucky shot for me that week; however, I have discovered that Publix has BOGOF items EVERY week!  Combine the BOGOF offers with 2 coupons (one for each item) and the savings can really add up, plus they double up to .50 coupons!  Whoo Hooo!!!!!

I budget $40 a week for groceries for our family of 4.  We are still living in a hotel until we can close on our new house and there is no oven so the amount of cooking going on here is very little 🙂  With that said, I don’t have to buy groceries right now, but with such great deals I can’t turn them down!  Here’s a picture of what I got at Publix.  Because this is my blog and I can, I’ve listed the price that I paid for each item after coupons (and just for my friend that doesn’t do the grocery shopping in her house, I noted the sales price for each item before coupons in parenthesis)!

  • 2 V8 Splash ($2.99 each) .99 each
  • 2 Motts Apple Juice ($2.89 each) .46 each
  • 2 Prego Sauce ($2.29) 1.15 each
  • 2 Duncan Hines Cake Mix ($1.57) .79 each
  • 2 Milano Cookies ($3.39) $1.50 each
  • 2 Ken’s Marinade ($2.79) .90 each
  • 2 Reddi-Whip Cream ($2.00) $1.00 each
  • 2 Lipton Tea ($2.50) $2.12 each
  • Purina Dog Busy Bones $3.59
  • Purina Dog Beggin Strips FREE
  • Publix Wavy Dog Treats FREE

Because I was able to save so much on the items above, I was also able to get some great sandwich bread, sliced turkey, sliced cheese and some yummy chips and I still came in slightly under budget at $38.48!

Publix also has a weekly program “Try Theirs, Get Ours for Free.”  With this program you purchase a name brand product and receive the Publix brand equivelent for FREE!  Each week a different product or two is featured.  This week I scored an awesome deal on some doggie treats.  The Publix deal was buy a package of Purina dog beggin strips and get a bag of Publix wavy dog treats for free.  I was able to sweeten the deal because I had a coupon to get a free bag of beggin stips if I bought a bag of busy bones – which my dog loves!  So I got approx. $9 of dog treats for about $3.50!  That just makes my heart sing!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, my! Could it be that Publix was placed in your lap for your pure enjoyment rather than for just good stewardship?

Comment by feltsdia

wow! that’s impressive!!

Comment by Texasgirl

I think I could love that place! Did you get that savings buzz? Isn’t it great to be in the south. I mean all those folks in NYC have to shop at corner stores and pay like $10 for peanut butter. Yippee for savings!!!

Comment by Aprel D




Leave a Reply

