Bluebonnets To Peaches


Homemade Tortilla Experiment
November 8, 2008, 10:34 am
Filed under: Recipes

We go through a lot of tortillas around here!  It might be my craving of tex mex lately or that my friend, Angie, mentioned she went to Rosa’s last week, but I had been reading about making your own tortillas and the more I read the easier it sounded.  I decided to give it a try last night! 

Here’s the link to the recipe I used.  They were easy, a little time consuming, but easy.  After you mix the dough, you pull off 18 (I got 19) balls and shape them into small discs.

picture-238

The secret to making the dough easier to roll out is to let these small discs sit, wrapped in plastic, for about 1 hour.  After that I rolled each disc flat.  This is probably my least favorite part and you have to get over the fact that you won’t be able to make a perfect circle.  I think non-perfect circle tortillas give it more character, don’t you think?

picture-240

Next, it’s time to heat them up!  I  had to set my burner pretty hot, about 5.5 on my gas cooktop.  They cooked up beautifully!

picture-242

The tortillas tasted wonderful and stayed really hot all stacked together!

picture-243

They were easy to make and since you can freeze tortillas, you could make up a big batch all at once and have them stored in your freezer.  I think I might have just cut tortillas from our grocery list!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m going to start referring to you as “granola girl.”

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

