Bluebonnets To Peaches


We’re Back!
January 3, 2009, 6:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We’ve arrived safely back in Georgia from our week long visit to Texas!  Unpacking the car was the first item on our list to be done today and next was a trip to CVS and Publix!  After being gone for a week, we were in need of things like milk & bread.  I will blog more about our Texas trip next week!

Have you noticed my new chart on the left side of the page?  My Father-in-Law helped me did all of it for me!  I have a pretty good idea of how much we saved last year by using coupons and paying close attention to the ads, but for 2009 I wanted to keep a closer track of the actual numbers and decided that by posting it on my blog will help keep me accountable!  I probably won’t post EVERY time I go to the grocery, so the numbers might change even without a post.  I do plan for the numbers to be very accurate and updated weekly.  Another note for 2009, I’ve increased my grocery budget from $40/week to $50/week.  This gives me a little bit more room to stock up on meats (something I haven’t been able to do since moving to Georgia) and will allow me snag a unadvertised deal when I see one. 

Although, I really didn’t buy much today, I did snag a couple of really sweet deals that I will share with y’all!

blog-006

CVS

  • Tide Detergent on sale for $5.88, used $1 coupon
  • 2 Kid Throat Cooler $4.99 each, used BOGOF coupon and received $9.98 in ECB’s
  • 1 Early edition of the Sunday paper (there are 5 COUPON INSERTS – worth the extra copy) $2

Total Purchased $17.86

Total Coupons Used $5.99

Total ECB’s Used $11.87

Total ECB’s Earned $9.98

Total OFP $.42 (tax)

PUBLIX

  • 2 Boxes Honey Nut Cherrios, on sale for $1.99 each, used $1 coupon = $1.49 each
  • 3 GM Cereals, on sale for $1.99 each, used $1 coupon = $1.66 each
  • 2 Kellogs Pop Tarts BOGOF, used $1 coupon = .60 each
  • Velveeta Shells $1.59 (on sale, no coupon, but I like these . . . especially with a hot dog cooked with it! yum)
  • Milk $3.19
  • Bread $2.56
  • A couple of veggies and sandwich meat, needed for meals this week

Total Purchased $49.48

Total Savings (coupons & advertised specials) $15.68

Total OFP $33.80

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I had noticed your grid already at work. I didn’t know your f-i-l did it for you! That’s a story I need to hear! I know he gets just as much pleasure out of your deals as you do!

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

