Bluebonnets To Peaches


Today’s Deals
January 8, 2009, 4:24 pm
Filed under: CVS Deals, Publix Deals

Today was grocery/cvs shopping day and I got some awesome deals, including a unexpected deal! 

Typically when I grocery shop I keep my eyes on my list – not on the shelves.  I usually only go down the aisles that I need to go down, I have found that this keeps items that aren’t on my list out of my basket!  Today while at Publix (have I mentioned how much I love Publix?) I took a turn down the wrong aisle!  As I got to the end of the aisle, completely irritated that I was wasting time, I noticed a “in store special”  otherwise know as a “unadvertised special!”  The special was BOGOF on Minute Maid Juice Coolers – something that we are in need of (I use these in the boys lunches) – the “in store special” price came to $1.09 a box!!  As I piled some into my cart I thought “isn’t God a hoot?” He sent me down the “wrong” aisle just to bless me with a great deal!  I love that!

Another bonus this week is that we received a $5/$30 purchase at Publix yesterday in the mail!  Whoo Hoo, that makes my heart sing !  The $5 coupon is included in the total savings number.

Now onto my other shopping deals today:

blog

The first stop was Ingles, a grocery store here in Georgia.  I have only been there once before because I have found their prices to be very high; however, this week they had a great sale on cubed steak that I just couldn’t pass up!  My next stop was CVS with a cashier that was more than 1/2 asleep!  My last stop was Publix 🙂  Here’s the breakdown:

INGLES

  • Cubed Steak $2.84/lb
  • Grapes $1.68/lb

Total Purchased $17.48

Total Savings $6.74

Total OOP $10.74

CVS

  • 2 All Detergent BOGOF $7.49, used 2 .40 coupons = $3.35/ea
  • Cototnelle 20 rolls $12.97, used .50 coupon = $12.47
  • Garnier hair spray $2.99, used $1 coupon = $1.99

Total Purchased $30.94

Total Savings $9.79

Total ECB’s Used $20.35

Total ECB’s Earned $6

Total OOP $.80

PUBLIX

  • Chicken $1.99/lb (this is the lowest I’ve seen it here, I bought 15 pounds) 
  • Ground Beef $2.69/lb (on sale, not the best price, but we needed 1/lb for dinner next week)
  • 8 Pasta/Rice A Roni BOGOF, used 2 $1 coupons = .58 each
  • 2 Betty Crocker Fruit Snacks BOGOF, used .50 coupon, doubled = .80 each
  • 3 Pringles 5/$5, used .30 coupon, doubled = .80 each
  • 6 Minute Maid Juice Coolers BOGOF = 1.09 each

Total Purchased $107.89

Total Savings (coupons & specials) $63.76

Total OOP $44.13

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I hope your meat didn’t sit out of the counter too long…bacteria, you know…

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

