Bluebonnets To Peaches


An Addition to Our Kitchen
January 9, 2009, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Craft Ideas

My mom gave my sister and I these cute quotes for Christmas!

blog-010

The quote says “The fondest memories are made when gathered around the table.”  I had seen these in the store awhile back and thought they were super cute and I especially loved this quote. 

This quote is appropriate for our family because the kitchen table was the center of our household while I was growing up.  My parents kitchen table was my grandmother’s table and my mom had it refinished.  The table is well worn, but has many memories for me.  So many life events happened at that kitchen table.  It’s the table where I did my homework, it’s where we played INTENSE family games of Monopoly (or marbles or chicken foot!), it’s where hubby and I told my parents that we were engaged, it was while everyone was gathered around the table that we told our family that we were expecting our first baby!  It is also the same table that we gathered around after my dad passed away, to share stories of him – we left his seat empty.

We had the perfect spot for the quote, right above our sink.  I love the way it turned out and it makes me smile everytime I walk by it!  Here’s what it looks like:

blog-011

What’s your favorite quote?

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is very neat!

Comment by feltsdia

It looks great!

Comment by Cindy

Is this the same quote that Stacy has at Dream Dinners? Love it!

Comment by Jennifer

These were some of the exact memories I felt when I first saw this “Once Upon A Wall” quote and I was determined for us to one of our very own. In fact today as I was shopping I looked for a “frame” to attach my lettering to since my walls are textured and I’m afraid they won’t stick. You have such a way with words. Thank you! Mom

Comment by Natalie

It looks so good! Mom and I have been looking for the perfect place…will get it up soon 🙂 Made me cry thinking of all the events that happened at the “table”.

Comment by Anne




Leave a Reply

