Bluebonnets To Peaches


Our Weekend Project
January 18, 2009, 9:01 pm
Filed under: Frugal Deals/Ideas

blog-046

This weekend we installed a water heater insulation blanket on our water heater in the basement!  This is our first home with a basement and while we LOVE the extra room, our basement is unfinished and it is COLD down there!  For some reason, water heaters are placed in the basement . . . even when the bathroom/shower is on the top floor!  That’s a long way for the water to run and wait for it to get hot!  With the temperature being down in the teens this past week, hubby thought it would be a good idea to try out an insulation blanket on the water heater and he got a gift certificate for Christmas that paid for the blanket!

The blanket was easy to install and quick, it only took us about 20 minutes!  According to everything I read, the blanket should save us somewhere between 10-25% on our bill.  I also checked to see if we could receive any rebates for installing the insulation blanket, but our gas company does not offer anything (however; if you try this, check with your own company – many do offer a rebate).  I’ll be watching our bill and I’ll post our results. 

Did you have any fun home projects this weekend?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I bought paint, lots of paint. We put things up in the attic. I also finished the bag portion of my felting project. Productive!

Comment by feltsdia

Yes 🙂 Mom and I finished recovering my kitchen chairs…they are on my blog. I like the insulation blanket. We have one too. How nice of someone to give you a gift certificate to buy it with 🙂

Comment by Anne

So funny, Donny & I just purchased a blanket for our water heater the same weekend as yall did! We put it on… i sure hope it helps with our bill! i can’t imagine yall being in 11 degress!!! wow!!! are yall freezing!!!!????

Comment by ronda




Leave a Reply

