Bluebonnets To Peaches


This Crazy Weather
March 13, 2009, 7:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I thought Texas was the only place that it could be 30 degrees one day and 80 the next, but evidently that happens here in Georgia too!  We went from snow to 80 degrees in one week time! 

I have been inspired by Michelle at Leaving Excess.  Michelle lives in Minnesota and this past winter she and her family attempted to not turn on their heater until December 1st . . . in Minnesota!  You should read her posts about how they did it, very inspiring!  Now I will be the first to admit that I’m a wimp with the cold weather – I don’t like it!  However, I am from Texas and I can tolerate heat much higher than a mere 80 degrees so I’ve decided to see how long we can go without turning on our air conditioning!  I didn’t exactly call a family meeting to discuss this, but so far no body’s complaining!

This week we’ve done great!  We’ve turned on the ceiling fans and we’ve opened up the windows and it creates a nice breeze through the house.  I can already hear all my friends laughing at me!  I’ve never been a “open the window” kind of person.  About a year ago I was complaining how “closed in” the house was feeling and my friend mentioned that I should open my blinds!  It never occurred to me to do that!  Now I’ve taken it a step further and have actually opened our windows!

We have really neat windows here that open from the top OR the bottom (I now understand that these are “standard” windows in parts of the country, but I had never seen windows like these until we moved to Georgia!).  I’ve opened the windows from the top and I don’t have to worry about the kids leaning on the screens and accidently falling through the window!

I will keep everyone updated on how long we can make it without turning on the air conditioning!

P.S. I’m sure my sister Anne and her family are so happy to be reading this since they are coming to visit us this next week!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I tried to leave my heater off a few weeks ago when it got down into the 30s at night, and you know how long I made it? ONE DAY.

Comment by Carolyn

uhhhh, those are called “double hung” windows. You really can get them in Texas too. And gee, you really area wimp on heat, I never turn the AC on here until the temperature inside the house gets to at least 80 on a regular basis (and I am sure your husband remembers that and has some nasty words to say about it!)

Glad to hear all is well there. We are actually getting rain, something we haven’t seen in a while.

Comment by Grandpa

What will you think of next…

Comment by feltsdia

lol! you are too funny! I LOVE to open our windows and I’d LOVE to have them open from the top like yours…that way no children or doggies could jump out…lucky you! We miss all of you!

Comment by ronda




Leave a Reply

