Bluebonnets To Peaches


Our First Attempt At a Garden
May 4, 2009, 10:02 am
Filed under: Gardening

I’m still not completely sure how this happen . . . we took a trip to Lowe’s and the next thing I know we are planting a garden!

I had been thinking about planting a small garden, but I don’t really have a “green thumb” so I wasn’t too sure about my idea.  We have a 2-tier flower bed in our backyard and the builder had put some simple bushes in the bottom tier and left the top tier empty.  While my sister and her family were here visiting, my brother in law suggested we move the bushes to the top tier and then plant something in the bottom tier so that we could easily reach whatever we planted.

We decided that sounded like a great idea, so the boys dug up the bushes and moved them to the top tier.  Next, we cleaned out the bottom tier (it was full of rocks), put in some new soil and planted a few veggies. 

Here are my boys hard at work:

blog-069

This was a really fun family day!  We spent the whole day in the backyard working together as a family.  I can’t wait to talk about sowing and reaping with the boys when it’s time to harvest our veggies!

Here’s our finished tiers, ready for some veggies to be planted:

blog-072

On Wednesday I’ll share some more pictures and what we planted!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very cool. Can’t wait to see the other pictures!

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

