Bluebonnets To Peaches


Teacher Gifts
May 8, 2009, 11:30 am
Filed under: Craft Ideas

One of the benefits of living in a new location is that I can “reuse” gift ideas!  Nick and I have been enjoying our Bible Study Fellowship(BSF) class this year and I have been really impressed with the children’s program!  Nick LOVES to go to Bible Study and his teachers have been terrific!  One of the things I love is that the children are taught the same class as the adults, but on their level.  For example, this year we have been studying the life of Moses by reading Genesis through Deuteronomy in detail and Nick has been studying the life of Moses by learning the basic facts, Bible verse memorization and singing songs about Moses.  I wanted to give his teachers a small gift to show our appreciation.

I thought of these flower pots that I had made several years ago.  The “flowers” are actually pens and the “soil” is coffee beans.

Craigslist 061

They are super easy to make and inexpensive.  I use to have one sitting on my desk in Texas and we used the pens when our church team met at our house – the guys really loved using the flower pens!

First you need to gather your supplies:

Craigslist 054

I found the above pots and bunch of flowers at Hobby Lobby for 50% off.  The pots were $1.50 each and the bunch of flowers were $3.50.  I got the pens out of my supply closet – I bought these for cheap when school supplies were on sale.  I also already had the flower tape and wire cutters.  I did purchase one bag of whole coffee beans (I picked vanilla flavor) from Publix for $4.99.  You could choose to use pinto or  black beans instead of coffee beans for a less expensive option.

I first cut 6 flowers (3 for each pot) from the bunch using the wire cutters leaving about 2 inches of the stem.

Craigslist 057

Next, line up the stem next to one of the pens and wrap the stem to the pen (leaving the flower above the pen) using flower tape.

Craigslist 059

The end result will look like this:

Craigslist 060

Repeat for all your pens.

Next, pour coffee beans into your pot and stick inside!  Enjoy!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your blog topics are just too funny! Love you!

Comment by feltsdia

I’m still enjoy the flower pens made for me almost 2 years ago.

Comment by Dorothy




Leave a Reply

