Bluebonnets To Peaches


Supplying my New Preschool Classroom
August 22, 2009, 12:57 pm
Filed under: Preschool

I have accepted a position at my kids school teaching 3 year olds in the preschool!  I am very excited about this new position and I have a million ideas floating around in my head about all the stuff I want to do with my class! 

It’s no secret that teachers spend A LOT of their own personal money on supplies for their classroom.  The school I am teaching at has expanded it’s preschool program for this year, so this is the first year we have had a 3 year old class.  That means lots of new supplies were needed and although the school has done a great job supplying my room, I want to be able to pick up things when I spot a good deal and start building my own preschool teaching collection.  I have been prayerful about spending personal funds and trying to remind myself that I’m suppose to be bringing a paycheck home, not spending it all on “cute” supplies!

God is so faithful!  A few weeks ago I received a letter in the mail from Chase bank with a special offer.  I have a checking account with Washington Mutual, which has now become Chase bank.  This is not our primary checking account, in fact it is an account I haven’t touched in quite awhile and there is a very low balance in the account.  The offer from Chase stated that they would deposit $125.00 into my account if I used my debit card in 5 transactions in the next 60 days.  The $125 of FREE money caught my attention but I wanted to see what the “catch” was!  I read the letter several times and all of the fine print.  There was no minimum amount for the debit card purchases, I just have to make 5 separate transactions within 60 days and I have to leave the account open for the next 6 months.  No problem there, I can do that and $125 would buy some awesome things for my room!

I headed down to my local Chase branch to sign up for the offer and get a debit card (I said I didn’t use the account very often, I didn’t even have a debit card)!  They were happy to assist me and my new debit card arrived in the mail within the week!  I have one more transaction to make using my card and then I should receive my “free” money!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

He is so good! I want to see pics of the classroom and your supplies you buy!

Comment by feltsdia

a few more days before you greet your new students…a first for all of you..

Comment by Dorothy




Leave a Reply

