Bluebonnets To Peaches


A Race Car Birthday Cake
December 18, 2009, 7:00 am
Filed under: Recipes

When our first son was about to celebrate his first birthday, I decided that I should make his cake.  My mother in law and I signed up for cake classes at our local craft store and we learned the ins and outs of cake decorating.  I have since made almost all our children’s birthday cakes! 

After learning some basic techniques, this is a really frugal way to celebrate a birthday.  I use a box cake mix and stock up with I can find them for around .40-.50 a box.  I make my own icing which uses just a few ingredients and I think it tastes much better than the caned icing.  I have used character cake pans in the past and these can be expensive if you buy them at the store; however, you can commonly find them at garage sales and we’ve had great luck reselling old character cake pans on ebay – usually making back all of our money!

This year Nick requested a race car cake.  After some searching online, I decided I could make a race car cake and speed up the decorating process by using candies to help decorate it.  I used 2 round cake pans baking one with chocolate cake and one with yellow.  I then cut a small section off each cake to fit the 2 round pieces together.  The road was edged with m&m’s and Oreos finished off the bottom border.  I topped it off with a few of birthday boy’s toy cars and the cake was complete! 

Here’s how it turned out:

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Look at you go! You neglected to mention the strips you used to bake those cakes! 🙂

Comment by feltsdia

Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

Comment by cakes




Leave a Reply

