Bluebonnets To Peaches


Loosing Teeth
January 20, 2010, 7:00 am
Filed under: Parenting

About a month or two ago, our oldest son (7 years old) came up to me to show me that his front tooth was sightly loose.  Both he and I thought that he had already lost this tooth, so I called my best friend, the dental hygienist in Texas. She told me not to worry because it was still growing in and not permanently attached to the root.  So we didn’t worry.

Skip to this past Friday.  As lovely son is getting dressed Friday morning he hits his front tooth with a coat hanger and his tooth starts to bleed.  We get the bleeding to stop and go to school.  Everything seems fine.

Saturday during lunch the tooth starts to bleed again.  I get a little concerned, but the bleeding stops.  Saturday night at dinner the tooth starts bleeding again and lovely son starts complaining that it hurts.  I call dental hygienist friend to find out what I should do.  She thinks he probably scratched his gum with the coat hanger, we could put some orajel on it to ease the pain. 

We run by the store on the way home and purchase a bottle of orajel.  I put some on his gum and realize that half the tooth is not attached to the gum.  Now this is when I start to FREAK OUT!  I e-mail a picture of the tooth to dental hygienist friend but the e-mail takes forever to send, so I call her to tell her the tooth fell out.  She can’t believe it!

In case you’re wondering what to do with a permanent tooth if it falls out, let me tell you – you place the tooth in a bowl with icy milk.  I know, I thought it sounded weird too, but dental hygienist friend explained that the icy milk keeps the tooth alive and we had about 2 hours to get it reimplanted in the gum before the tooth would be dead.  As I start asking my friend what I should expect and thinking about all the years and money that we will be spending on an implanted tooth, hubby searches for a pediatric dentist in our area that has an after hours number. 

As I’m headed out the door to meet the dentist, dental hygienist friend calls me back.  She has finally received the e-mail with the picture of his tooth.  As best she can tell from the picture, she thinks the tooth is a baby tooth.  Well, we’ve already called the dentist and pulled her away from her family after hours, so I have to go plus dental hygienist friend still thinks it would be a good idea to have x-rays done to make sure there is no damage to the root.

Thirty minutes later I am at the dentist office with lovely son and our bowl of icy milk.  The dentist takes one look at his mouth and says “Mom, that was a baby tooth”!  At this point I am both embarrassed and relieved!  The dentist still wanted to take x-rays which of course showed the permanent tooth coming in!  Hallelujah! 

As I pay the bill for an after hours dentist visit, I will try to remember that it is better than years of dealing with implants.  Maybe the tooth fairy will leave a little extra for this tooth!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dental hygienist friend wishes there was a picture much sooner to prevent so much anxiety for everyone involved!

Comment by feltsdia

We are sitting in a hygiene course. You can now “bank” baby teeth for stem cells! http://www.bioeden.com

Comment by feltsdia

LOL feltsdia! Do they store them in icy milk?

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

As a matter of fact, they do!!!

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

