Bluebonnets To Peaches


An Envelope System Wallet
January 21, 2010, 7:00 am
Filed under: Curtains/Sewing Projects, Frugal Deals/Ideas

We are big fans of Dave Ramsey and we have been using a cash envelope system for over 2 years!  We love the system, it helps to keep us from overspending.  When the envelope is empty we are done spending in that category for the month!  If you want to learn more about using a cash envelope system, go here.

I’ve been looking for an envelope system friendly wallet for sometime but haven’t been able to find anything that I really liked.  I’ve been stuck to pulling out one envelope and sticking it in my purse to use at the store.  I will admit that when we started using the cash envelope system, having only one envelope at a time definitely stopped me from making some random purchases because I didn’t have the correct envelope with me; however, now that we’ve been on the system for 2 years we are much more disciplined in making random purchases.  I’m not saying it never happens, but we’ve learned to ask ourselves if the item is really needed in our home before buying it.

There are times, however, when I visit a superstore center that I will be buying from more than one category (such as groceries, clothing, and home decor) or when I’ll be making several stops at different types of stores in one outing (such as stopping at the office supply store and grocery store in the same trip).  In these instances it would be really nice to have our most used envelope categories in my wallet, easy to get to.

Last week I spotted this post and Kelleigh’s LOVELY paper envelopes!  I was so excited after learning that I could make these envelopes at home for FREE!!  Whoo Hooo!

I gathered my supplies and made beautiful envelopes!  They make my heart sing . . . but I had nowhere to keep my new beautiful envelopes.  I don’t have a large size wallet so I decided I could make my own! 

I picked out some fun fabric from my stash and got to work!  I wanted my wallet to have a zipper for change, a place to hold my driver’s license and gift cards, a place to hold receipts and of course a nice spot for my new envelopes. 

Here’s how it turned out:

The front has a snap closure

The inside holds 10 of our most used envelopes and there is a spot behind the envelopes to hold receipts.  The bottom front has 6 spots to hold cards (i.e. drivers license, gift cards, etc.)

The zipper pouch for change is located on the back of the wallet.

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

WOW!! I love this wallet! Gorgeous, and it matches your envelopes so well! I’m terribly jealous right now!! LOL!

Comment by Kelleigh @ Kelleigh Ratzlaff Designs

Thanks Kelleigh! You were my inspiration behind the wallet!

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

Beautiful wallet! I am planning on making the envelopes… I wish I had the talent to make a wallet like that. Did you use a pattern for the fabric wallet?

Comment by Lauren @ten23designs

Thank you! I did not use a pattern for the wallet, I just kept playing around with it until it was the way I wanted it 🙂 Unfortunately I learned to sew without using patterns so I usually find it easier to make it up as I go along!

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

All of this time, I thought the wallet was KNITTED!!! However, it really is beautiful. What a great idea! You are so clever!

Comment by feltsdia

I’d love to buy one from you if you could make another 🙂

Comment by Megan

Hi Megan! I’ve had several request for the wallets, so I am opening an etsy shop online! It should be up and running in about a week, I’ll let you know as soon as the shop is open! Thanks!

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

Hi,

Please let me know when you are selling these….. would love to buy one!

Comment by katie

HI! I am interested in your wallets-so please email me when you are selling them! thanks, katie w.

Comment by katie

Just received the package..I knew I would like the wallet but I must say the purse/bag is awesome too..love the extra touches..you did a great job!!!

Comment by Dorothy

I love this! This is exactly what I’ve been looking for. How can I buy one of these?

Comment by Yarnelle

I really really want to purchase one of these wallets! Do you sell them? I just started the Dave Ramsey Class but I want a pretty envelope system!

Comment by Sherri Jennette

Sherri,
Yes, I sell the wallets! You can check out my etsy shop at http://www.bluebonnetstopeaches.etsy.com
If there is a special color that you would like, I would be more than happy to custom make a wallet for you! Just let me know what you are looking for!
I do not sell the envelopes because they are copyrighted; however, they are super simple to make! Here’s the link for the step by step tutorial for making the envelopes: http://kelleighratzlaff.com/featured/free-envelope-template-and-a-tutorial/

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

Hi. I love this wallet and would love to buy one but I can’t get the page to load. Are you still making them? Thanks

Comment by Jennifer Williams

Jennifer,
Yes, I am still making them. Try this link to my etsy store http://www.etsy.com/shop/BluebonnetsToPeaches

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

I would love to purchase one of these. Are you still making them?

Comment by Sonia

Yes, I am still making them! You can view my current wallets for sale in my etsy shop

Thank so much!

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches




Leave a Reply

