Bluebonnets To Peaches


Menu Plan Monday – February 1st-7th
February 1, 2010, 2:22 pm
Filed under: Recipes

It’s time for another Menu Plan Monday!  Since we ate most everything from the freezer last week (which wasn’t much), I’m going to be restocking our freezer this week.  I will be doubling or tripling a few of the recipes below to help restock.  Here’s our menu:

Monday – Baked Potato Soup (not freezable, but with the cooler temps we’ve had this just sounds yummy!)

Tuesday – Swedish Meatballs over egg noodles (I will be making extra swedish meatballs to store in the freezer)

Wednesday – Parmesan Crusted Tilapia with Lemon Rice Pilaf (I will be making extra of the parmesan mixture to freeze and a double batch of rice to freeze also)

Thursday – Spaghetti with garlic bread

Friday – Homemade Pizza (I will be making extra dough to freeze for future pizzas and making calzones for the freezer also)

Saturday – Chicken cilantro enchiladas (I will triple this recipe and freeze the extras)

Sunday- BBQ Beef in the crock pot (should make enough for BBQ sandwiches and then some to freeze for another night)

This post is part of Menu Plan Monday.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your menu sounds great! I was curious… on Kingdom First Mom you said that you budget $300 dollars for groceries. Is that your monthly budget or weekly? Also, how many are in your family. We have a family of 7 with two teenage boys and our budget is $150 per week. Sometimes I am able to do it for less, but most of the time I use all $150. Would love tips on how to get it down. Thanks for any help you can give me. cmredhead5@gmail.com

Comment by Christine

Hi Christine!
Our $300 budget is per month for our family of 4. Your family is almost double the size of mine so I think your budget is reasonable! The best way we got our grocery budget down was by pairing coupons with sell items. If anybody looked at my cart in the grocery store they would wonder what on earth we were eating for dinner! But when I take those items and pair them with things I already have at home that I purchased during previous sales we can have a variety of things for dinner! The second most useful way that I lowered our grocery bill was by making a lot of our food from scratch. I started paying attention to the “convenience items” that my family enjoyed and I worked on reproducing them from scratch. An example of this would be beef boritios. I now make my own and freeze them in individual packages. This makes it super easy for anyone in the family to grab one and pop it in the microwave!

Comment by bluebonnetstopeaches

Thanks for your reply and tips. As I said I am always looking for ways to save on groceries.
Blessings – Chis

Comment by Christine




Leave a Reply

