Bluebonnets To Peaches


Kroger Deals
February 8, 2010, 4:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I haven’t posted my grocery deals in some time, so I thought I’d show you what I got at Kroger this weekend.  I love it when Kroger has the $5 off Mega Event!  I love this sale so much that I ventured out in the cold with BOTH BOYS in tow! 

Total Purchased $99.31

Total Spent $59.15

Total Saved $40.16

Grocery shopping with children has always been a challenge for me.  I will never forget my first grocery store trip after our first son was born.  He was a few weeks old and I decided to venture out to the store.  I made sure to practice opening and closing the stroller before I left so I wouldn’t look like a complete fool!  After strategically planning our shopping trip around feeding time, we loaded up and headed to our local grocery store.  I gracefully opened my stroller and attached the car seat without incident – this was going to be great!  I then entered the store and realized that I couldn’t push my stroller AND a grocery cart at the same time!  My stroller wasn’t going to hold much food. I did what any new mom would do . . . I bought one loaf of bread, loaded us back in the car and drove 2 blocks to the other grocery store to do my shopping!

Fast forward 2 1/2 years when son number 2 was born.  Shopping didn’t get any easier.  I now had one in the front of the shopping cart and one in an infant carrier that I could place in the basket but then there was not  much room for our food.    I soon learned that I needed to do all my grocery shopping while the oldest was at preschool 2 days a week!

I now have 2 boys that no longer fit in the cart! They have to either hang onto the side of the cart or walk along beside me.  I try to make it fun for them by giving them items to help me find and we have lots of discussions about coupons and why we use them.  I wonder what the next phase will bring?  Maybe they will be driving me to the store . . . I just can’t think about that right now!

What’s your experience shopping with children?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

While grocery shopping my child wanted “candy” & wouldn’t stop screaming..I left my cart full of grocery’s the checkout line..with child in hand drove home..set child in her Dad’s lap and drove back to the store to pay for grocery’s..I’m glad to say that never happened again.

Comment by Dorothy

Hahahaha, Dorothy!!! N, I don’t have any shopping with kids experiences. 🙂

Comment by feltsdia




Leave a Reply

