Bluebonnets To Peaches


Homework Carrels
August 23, 2010, 6:00 am
Filed under: Craft Ideas

This year Hotrod started kindergarten! With one in kinder and one in 3rd grade I knew we would have 2 boys with homework this year. I like the boys to do their homework at the kitchen table so that I am nearby to answer any questions and to make sure they stay on task.

This worked great in previous years when we only one had child with homework. This year I knew I would need to find a way to separate the boys while at the same time keeping myself nearby for any help that may be needed.

I remembered seeing this in Family Fun magazine last year and I decided it was the perfect solution for us!  Not only would it create separate study areas for our boys, it would also keep any needed supplies in close reach.

I had a large display board in the basement from a previous project that I cut in half to make 2 carrels.  The display board had some previous papers glued to it and when I peeled the paper off it tore the display board a bit.  I fixed this by covering the board in white contact paper – good as new!

First I attached a metal ruler to the top of the center section of the board using velcro.  The ruler can now do double duty by holding a stapler, scissors and a pencil sharpener.  Next I attached a hook that holds a zipper pouch to hold glue, markers etc.  Using velcro again I attached a pencil holder to the center section also.

On the left side I attached 2 paper clips to hold any study guides and the right side holds a cork board with push pins.

Now that we are into our 3rd week of school, I can say that these have been a huge success!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are just so crafty. How do you stand yourself?!

Comment by feltsdia

great idea!!

Comment by Leanne

You are sooo crafty! I love it!

Comment by shonda




Leave a Reply

